March 6, 2010






Chennai Super Kings is the Chennai based franchise of the Indian Premier League. The team is led by Mahendra Singh Dhoni and coached by Stephen Fleming. The M. A. Chidambaram Stadium (often referred to as Chepauk) is the Super Kings' home ground. Currently owned by India Cements Limited

Most valuable IPL Team : The Economic Times commissioned UK-based Brand Finance to carry out brand evaluation of the IPL and also each of the eight franchise teams (that will increase to 10 in 2011). Chennai Super Kings, has been rated as this year’s “most valuable team” in Indian Premier League cricket with a brand value of USD 48.4 Million (app Rs 224 Crores). Which is 2.4 million more than Kolkata Knight Rhiders whose brand value stood at 46 Million.

2008 Season : The Super Kings had a solid start to their 2008 IPL Season, winning their first 4 matches. However, their top order and bowling attack took a hit after Matthew Hayden, Michael Hussey and Jacob Oram left the team for international duty. The team's performance reflected this, as they proceeded to lose their next 3 matches. The batting, although inconsistent, eventually adjusted to the losses of Hayden and Hussey with contributions from Dhoni, Suresh Raina and Albie Morkel. The gap in the team’s bowling left by Oram’s departure was eventually filled by the arrival of Makhaya Ntini and Albie Morkel (both of whom were playing the Pro20 domestic tournament in South Africa during the start of the tournament) and the emergence of Manpreet Gony. A win in the final league match against the Deccan Chargers ensured their progress into the semi-finals.

The team defeated the Kings XI Punjab in the semifinal by 9 wickets. They lost the final to Rajasthan Royals by three wickets off the last ball.

2009 Season : Apart from Andrew Flintoff, up for the 2009 season are Thilan Thushara from Sri Lanka, George Bailey from Tasmania, Australia and Murali Vijay, the Tamil Nadu batsman who played for India in two test matches, Sudeep Tyagi, who had missed the 2008 season due to injury, returned in 2009. In addition, Shadab Jakati of Goa was also added to the team, a left field selection by V. B. Chandrasekhar the team's Director of Cricketing Operations. Five players, Srikanth Anirudha, Sivaramakrishnan Vidyut, Selvam Suresh Kumar, Abhinav Mukund, and Napoleon Einstein were sent back from South Africa to trim the squad. Michael Hussey opted out of the 2009 season, but he decided to come back for the semi-finals but was not picked to play. Andrew Flintoff picked up a knee injury and was withdrawn from the tournament and returned to England early in the tournament.

The Super Kings lost their first match to the Mumbai Indians by 19 runs, but won the second match against the Royal Challengers Bangalore by 92 runs, with the man of the match being Muralitharan and Matthew Hayden scoring 65 off 35 balls. They entered the semifinals after their win against Mumbai Indians by 7 wickets, where they were eliminated by the Royal Challengers.

Matthew Hayden was the Leading run scorer in IPL 2009. scoring 572 runs in 12 matches with an average of 52 and strike rate of 144.81 yet again proving his worth as a cricketer.

2010 Season : The Super Kings start their tournament against the defending champions, Deccan Chargers, in a home match. The SuperKings added two new overseas players to their roster: Justin Kemp and Thissara Perera.One of these two will fill in the empty slot while the other shall serve as a substitute to Andrew Flintoff who has planned to skip this season.The SuperKings have also roped in former ICL cricketer Hemang Badani and local all-rounder C Ganapathy.The franchise is also looking to add another bowler to the squad as the bowling department looks a bit inconsistent.

No comments: